Toronto Storm

I thought that I had already had my share of weather-related new experiences in Canada; however, monday’s storm proved you never stop learning. Heavy rain caused severe flooding in the GTA during rush hour.  I live in Oakville and we didn’t have power for a few hours. Toronto Hydro said that at one point, approximately 300,000 people were without power in the city. In Mississauga the numbers were even higher as 80% of its 700,000 residents were without power.

Subway and train services were disrupted. The worst was a flooded train where over 1000 people had to be rescued. The passengers on the train were stranded for over 6 hours. There were also subway trains that were trapped in tunnels.

By Tuesday things were slowly going back to normal. There were still train delays and rotating power outages. It took me 1.5 hours (by train and bus) to get to the Hamilton Go Station from Appleby Station in Burlington, a ride that usually takes 40 minutes at the most.

In Campeche, Mexico we are used to heavy rain and flooding. People avoid going outside when it rains a lot. Monday made me feel like I was back in Mexico. Here are some pictures of the storm chaos.

Image

THE CANADIAN PRESS/Winston Neutel

Image

THE CANADIAN PRESS

 

Bloorislington-e1373414028155

(Photograph by Jonathan Chevreau)

About Diana Massimi

As a newcomer in Canada, I've had some really great experiences. Every day, I continue to learn and adapt to my new country. As I've just passed the three year mark as a permanent resident, I'll soon be applying for citizenship. It's an exciting step to take and I'm looking forward to being "officially" Canadian. This blog is to share what I've learned so far and my everyday experiences and feelings being a newcomer to this country. More than anything I'll be looking forward to hearing from other newcomers and exchanging impressions and anecdotes about our new life in Canada. Feel free to share and ask questions, I'm also always happy to help a fellow newcomer!
This entry was posted in Newcomers to Canada and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Toronto Storm

  1. What a day! How can that much rain fall in such a short amount of time without it being a hurricane or the like. It sounds like you were somewhere safe and not caught in the middle of this crisis. It’s interesting to read that something as crazy as this weather can make you feel like you were back in Mexico. I had no idea they had so much rain there. I’m sure this summer will bring more surprises.

    • Thanks for the commen Adrianne. I come from the Yucatan Peninsula and it rains so much there from June to November. It usually rains in the afternoon, it comes down hard and then it stops. When we get tropical storms, it can rain for many hours. The city always gets flooded but it goes down after a few hours.This summer has been quite different from the previous too, definitely a new experience!

  2. Wow the pictures really say it all. If I didn’t see the GO trains, i could have easily assumed it was somewhere else.

  3. alisonr2 says:

    The storms recently are definitley worse than we have seen in a long time. Hopefully we don’t see any more like that one for a long time. Glad you made it through safely.

Leave a Reply

