Summer is finally here!

It is now officially summer. This is a season a lot of people in Canada patiently (or not so patiently in my case!) wait for. Having been raised in a country where it’s warm all year round, summer is a welcomed season for me. The funny thing is I was never an outdoors type of person in Mexico; I didn’t even go to the beach much. But living in Canada has changed me. Winter is far too long for me and I now crave the feeling of being outside enjoying the sun and warmth. I even look forward to going to the beach!

For newcomers who want to enjoy a nice beach day in Southern Ontario, I highly recommend going to Long Point Park. The reason I like Long Point so much is because it feels like a “real” beach. Now don’t take me wrong. I’m not saying other beaches are not nice; it all comes back to my origins and being from a coastal city in Mexico. I grew up in Campeche, by the Gulf of Mexico. I had the Mayan Riviera a few hours away from home. To me, going to the beach would mean swimming in the ocean. It was always warm, salty and blue with white sand. So my first experience with the beach here left me a bit disappointed. The water was not crystal clear, nor was it warm. Long Point came to change this.
Long point as described by the Ontario Parks Website is a “part of a 40-kilometer-long sand spit in Lake Erie which is recognized as a biosphere reserve by the United Nations. It is a world-renowned refuge and stopover for migrating birds in fall and spring.” What I love about Long Point is that the beach has beautiful sand and the water looks blue and clear on sunny days.

There are many activities that can be done at Long Point, from spending a day at the beach to camping. People bring their barbecues to cook and enjoy a fun day at the beach. In Mexico drinking alcoholic beverages is allowed at the beach so for people from other countries it’s important to remember this is not the case in Ontario beaches.

So it is now summer and it’s time to enjoy. Go out and explore as Ontario is a beautiful province with lots of attractions during this time of the year. If you know of any other beaches that are worth visiting, feel free to tell us about it in the comments section.

Image

Long Point Park (source: http://www.parkreports.com/gallery/gallery.php?park=Long%20Point)

About Diana Massimi

As a newcomer in Canada, I've had some really great experiences. Every day, I continue to learn and adapt to my new country. As I've just passed the three year mark as a permanent resident, I'll soon be applying for citizenship. It's an exciting step to take and I'm looking forward to being "officially" Canadian. This blog is to share what I've learned so far and my everyday experiences and feelings being a newcomer to this country. More than anything I'll be looking forward to hearing from other newcomers and exchanging impressions and anecdotes about our new life in Canada. Feel free to share and ask questions, I'm also always happy to help a fellow newcomer!
This entry was posted in Newcomers to Canada and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Summer is finally here!

  1. Mark Darovny says:

    There are some nice ones on Lake Huron too. I’ve been to beaches in Goderich and Southampton, at The Pinery Provincial Park, and also Singing Sands on the Bruce Peninsula – they are less busy than places like Sauble or Wasaga (which are nice too when not crowded).

Leave a Reply

