Sun and warmth? Yes, please!

Campeche, Mexico, the town I’m from, is a nice city near the beach. Except for a couple of weeks in January, Campeche is warm and sunny all year round. People in Campeche try to avoid being outside in the afternoon as temperatures reach 35°C and higher. When I lived there and my husband (then boyfriend) was in Canada, he used to put a lot of emphasis on being outside whenever it was sunny. I just couldn’t understand it. Why do you need to be outside in the sun? Sometimes I would ask him to stay in to chat but he’d ask me to wait until the evening so he could go and enjoy the warmth. I assumed he was just an outdoors type of guy.

It took me moving to Canada and experiencing the change of seasons to finally understand what he meant. After having to bundle up for months just to walk to your car, it’s nice when spring finally arrives. Now whenever it’s a sunny day, I’m eager to be outside to feel the sun and absorb all the vitamin D I can take. I also look forward to hot days when you can wear a pair of shorts and a t-shirt without getting cold.

Being in Canada has changed my perspective on weather. In Campeche, people don’t reallycheck the weather. It’s either hot and sunny or hot and rainy. It’s nice to be able to experience the four seasons and enjoy the activities each one brings. This is one of the things I’ve adapted to in my new life in Canada and I love it.  As for this weekend (Victoria Day weekend), it looks like we will be getting some really nice temperatures. I plan to sit back, relax and just enjoy the sun

file0001120171644

 

 

About Diana Massimi

As a newcomer in Canada, I've had some really great experiences. Every day, I continue to learn and adapt to my new country. As I've just passed the three year mark as a permanent resident, I'll soon be applying for citizenship. It's an exciting step to take and I'm looking forward to being "officially" Canadian. This blog is to share what I've learned so far and my everyday experiences and feelings being a newcomer to this country. More than anything I'll be looking forward to hearing from other newcomers and exchanging impressions and anecdotes about our new life in Canada. Feel free to share and ask questions, I'm also always happy to help a fellow newcomer!
This entry was posted in Newcomers to Canada and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Sun and warmth? Yes, please!

  1. Very interesting take on something so simple. I too am from a tropical country and you are right, people don’t check the weather there… well except for tourists. ha ha. Variety is a good thing I guess and when you have something that is limited it makes it all that more precious, even something as simple as the weather. 🙂

  2. This past winter I got wind burn on my face just going from my office to the parking lot, so I’m a bit jealous (O.K. a lot jealous). I change of seasons is nice in the fall, but I could use a little more summer.

  3. Mark Darovny says:

    I can’t imagine not having seasons that are very different from each other.

    Is summer your favourite season then? What would be your second favourite?

    • My second favourite would be spring. I love that feeling when the weather is just starting to change and you know you have a few months of nice, warm weather ahead of you. What’s your favourite season Mark?

      • Mark Darovny says:

        Autumn. Warm but not too hot days, cool evenings, and the colours and aromas of the leaves. Spring would be #2 but I don’t mind winter that much either.

  4. I often wondered what people from warmer climates used for ‘small talk.’ Here in Canada, we always have a good content talking about the weather. Always!

    • That’s a good point. We usually chit chat about how hot it is, how it’s impossible to stay in the heat and how wonderful it feels being inside with your a/c on. In the winter (Late November to early February) temperatures go down to 12, 13 degrees Celsius at night and reach 23, 24 degrees during the day; that’s when people comment about how “cold” it is.

Leave a Reply

