Mother’s Day

Today is Mother’s Day in Mexico. It’s a date that I keep close to my heart because it gives me an occasion to remember everything my mom has done for me. She has been an amazing friend and has always supported me in good and bad times. I don’t know about other newcomers, but to me, my native country’s major holidays (Mother’s Day is one of them) are the times that being far from friends and family hits me hardest. Although I enjoy my new life in Canada, there is a part of me that will always long to see more of the people I love. Holidays make me feel that I’m missing out on good times with them.

Mother’s day is a very big celebration in Mexico. Typically, people will serenade their moms on Mother’s Day’s Eve. The family will get together and either hire a group to play (Mariachi)  or they sing themselves. The day after (May 10th every year) the family gets together for dinner to celebrate Mother’s Day.

It is days like this that I get mixed feelings. I’m very happy in Canada and I’m grateful for my life here and everything I’ve experienced so far. But I’m also sad to miss some precious moments with my family and friends.

I don’t know if a day will come that I won’t get these mixed feelings. While I find out, I will embrace the best that my two countries have given me and patiently wait for the next  time I get to visit Mexico.

About Diana Massimi

As a newcomer in Canada, I've had some really great experiences. Every day, I continue to learn and adapt to my new country. As I've just passed the three year mark as a permanent resident, I'll soon be applying for citizenship. It's an exciting step to take and I'm looking forward to being "officially" Canadian. This blog is to share what I've learned so far and my everyday experiences and feelings being a newcomer to this country. More than anything I'll be looking forward to hearing from other newcomers and exchanging impressions and anecdotes about our new life in Canada. Feel free to share and ask questions, I'm also always happy to help a fellow newcomer!
This entry was posted in Newcomers to Canada and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Mother’s Day

  1. Parveer Mann says:

    Wow, I didn’t know how important Mother’s Day was in Mexico. Knowing that, do you have any thoughts on how it is celebrated in Canada?

    • Thank you for your comment Parveer. It is one of the most important holidays in Mexico. I find that it is also very important in Canada; perhaps the way it is celebrated here is a little different. I still find it nice to celebrate this holiday with my in-laws. I’m fortunate to have a wonderful mother-in-law who has always been supportive. On Mother’s Day, my husband’s family gets together and we spend some quality time enjoying each other’s company. I’m not sure how other families celebrate but maybe they do the same. I guess it’s another cultural experience I will get to learn more about as time goes by.

  2. Shelby says:

    I enjoyed reading this post and hearing about how Mother’s Day is Celebrated in Mexico. The multiculturalism in Canada makes holidays so interesting. It sounds like Mexican culture takes a different approach to the consumerist practice Canadians take to Mother’s Day. We are encouraged to buy gifts and spend money rather than genuinely just celebrate our Moms. Thanks for sharing!

    • Thank you Shelby. You know, in Mexico people are also encouraged to buy gifts; however, I find people are much more passionate about the holiday than in Canada. I may be mistaken and it could be that I haven’t been exposed to it enough to know more about it though. The “Serenade” is actually a really nice part of this holiday in Mexico. There is actually a song that is very representative of Mother’s Day and everyone plays it on that day. Multiculturalism definitely makes things interesting! I’m eager to learn more about how other cultures in Canada celebrate different holidays as well.

  3. misiagalka says:

    I think Mother’s Day in Mexico sounds wonderful! I would agree with Shelby’s point above that in North America the focus is placed on gifts and spending money when we all know all moms want is to be with their family. I love the serenade and Mariachi music, it sounds like a real celebration!

Leave a Reply

