The journey continues – Life as a newcomer in Canada

After a rather lengthy absence, I’m excited to continue writing about my experiences as a newcomer in Canada. My last post was in December 2011. At that point in time I had been in Canada for a year and nine months. It’s incredible how different things look a year and a half later.

After living in Canada for three years, my view of things has changed as I feel I have stronger ties to my new country. Though it is true I was exposed to the culture here (my husband is Canadian) from day one, I didn’t have a sense of belonging in the beginning. I used to wonder if I would ever get that feeling or if I would always feel like a newcomer. I can now say I am happy and proud to live in such a wonderful country. A funny thing that used to happen to me during my first couple of years in Canada was that whenever I talked about my native country, I used to say “home”. Now I think of Canada as my home. That doesn’t mean I have forgotten about my own country or that I feel I don’t belong there; however, whenever I go back to visit, after a few weeks, I do long to return to Canada and see my relatives and friends here. It’s a nice feeling that I welcome as it’s made it easier to enjoy my new life.

Three years in Canada also bring another important event as I’m now ready (and eligible) to apply for citizenship. It’s a huge step that will symbolize the culmination of my journey as a newcomer and the beginning of my life as an official Canadian citizen. I look forward to sharing my experiences with everyone as every day brings new adventures.

About Diana Massimi

As a newcomer in Canada, I've had some really great experiences. Every day, I continue to learn and adapt to my new country. As I've just passed the three year mark as a permanent resident, I'll soon be applying for citizenship. It's an exciting step to take and I'm looking forward to being "officially" Canadian. This blog is to share what I've learned so far and my everyday experiences and feelings being a newcomer to this country. More than anything I'll be looking forward to hearing from other newcomers and exchanging impressions and anecdotes about our new life in Canada. Feel free to share and ask questions, I'm also always happy to help a fellow newcomer!
This entry was posted in Newcomers to Canada and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

