Adopting Canadian values

I was browsing the web when I came across an article that caught my attention. The title read:Immigrants should adopt Canadian values to settle here. This is a topic that I’ve given some thought in the past. Canada is a country made up of many different cultures; each one has its own unique characteristics. So what happens when all these different ideas converge in one country, city or town?

According to the article, Canadians think that newcomers should embrace Canadian values as a requirement to be admitted into the country. This sounds harsh, unless you pay attention to what they really mean. When they say values, they are talking about things such as gender equality and tolerance for others.

I think when a person is considering moving to another country, they should be ready to go through some changes. This doesn’t mean you have to give up your core values; as long as you comply with Canadian laws, you should be free to have your own customs and beliefs.

I moved to Canada knowing that I’d have to adapt to a new way of life. I know that when I have kids, they will be more Canadian than Mexican. I’m not going to deny that this idea makes me a little bit uncomfortable. After all, I was born and raised in Mexico, and until recently, that was the only way of life I truly knew. One thing that makes me feel better is that I like my life here. As time goes by, I find that I’m growing fonder of my new country each day. It has only been one year and 9 months since I moved here; in a few more years, I will probably feel that I’m Canadian, though deep down, I will always be Mexican and will always love my native country.

I guess what I’m trying to say is that I don’t think there is anything wrong with adopting Canadian values. Doing it won’t mean you will stop being who you are or that you’ve forgotten your roots. Adopting Canadian values is a wonderful way to embrace your new life in your new country. It makes the transition easier. So let’s all be proud to be able to live in such a wonderful country and let’s be open and tolerant; after all, multiculturalism and tolerance are among  the most important Canadian values.

About Diana Massimi

As a newcomer in Canada, I've had some really great experiences. Every day, I continue to learn and adapt to my new country. As I've just passed the three year mark as a permanent resident, I'll soon be applying for citizenship. It's an exciting step to take and I'm looking forward to being "officially" Canadian. This blog is to share what I've learned so far and my everyday experiences and feelings being a newcomer to this country. More than anything I'll be looking forward to hearing from other newcomers and exchanging impressions and anecdotes about our new life in Canada. Feel free to share and ask questions, I'm also always happy to help a fellow newcomer!
This entry was posted in Newcomers to Canada and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Adopting Canadian values

  1. I simply want to tell you that I am new to web blog and definitely liked this blog site. Very likely I am going to bookmark your blog. You absolutely have wonderful story. Cheers for sharing with us your blog.

Leave a Reply

