ELT: lessons for a lifetime

I decided to summarize some of the lessons learned at the ELT program as they come to my mind. I think this is what got me through that job hunt period and helped me to stay positive. These are things that I will always keep in mind, because they don’t just apply to job hunting, they are also great tips to be a successful professional.

1.- Network, network, network: perhaps the most important thing when you just moved to a new country! This is what will help you feel at ease in your new environment and it will be an invaluable resource during your job hunt period.

Networking is key when job hunting

2.- Stay current: increase your chances of getting your dream job. Read, research, join professional associations and take courses if needed. This will give you an advantage over other candidates.

3.- During an interview, keep it detailed and relevant: although the interviewer doesn’t need to hear your life story, it is important to give an answer that shows what you have achieved while making sure your response is relevant to the question and the job at all times. Remember to follow the STAR approach:

Situation or Task: what you were required to do/situation at work
Action: what you did to resolve the issue
Results: what the outcome was

4.- Resume and cover letter writing: there is so much to say about this topic; I’ll summarize by saying it is essential to make it concise and relevant. Make sure you have an experienced person coach you and several people read it. This will increase the number of good ideas that will help you create a winning resume and cover letter.

5.-What’s the worst that can happen? What’s the best that can happen?  : This is my favorite lesson learned at ELT. When Jayne was trying to encourage us to call people to invite them to be our guest speakers, we would all get nervous. Who wants to call a total stranger and ask him or her to leave their work during business hours and come to give a presentation for a group of people he or she has never heard of? So Jayne liked telling us to just do it because in the end: What is the worst that happen? They say no. What is the best that can happen? They say yes and that can lead to many future opportunities.  I have applied this philosophy to many situations in my professional life and it has given me courage and confidence.

Again, thanks ELT!

If you have anything to add that you think is essential when job hunting, please leave your comment!

About Diana Massimi

As a newcomer in Canada, I've had some really great experiences. Every day, I continue to learn and adapt to my new country. As I've just passed the three year mark as a permanent resident, I'll soon be applying for citizenship. It's an exciting step to take and I'm looking forward to being "officially" Canadian. This blog is to share what I've learned so far and my everyday experiences and feelings being a newcomer to this country. More than anything I'll be looking forward to hearing from other newcomers and exchanging impressions and anecdotes about our new life in Canada. Feel free to share and ask questions, I'm also always happy to help a fellow newcomer!
This entry was posted in Marketing and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to ELT: lessons for a lifetime

  1. MF says:

    I like this very much Diana and may I add that trying not to feel overwhelmed is another challenge as it is easy to become wrapped up in the search. Remember that you are not the only one in this situation and something may come up sooner than later.

    • Thanks Michele! You make a good point. It is important to focus on your search without letting it become your only activity in life as it can be overwhelming. I had moments in which I felt so discouraged and frustrated but everything worked out. I actually got a job and I’m now working. Thanks for your comment!

  2. Mika says:

    ELT was good, though I didn’t finish the last part due to my employment. Jayne taught how is the job hunting situation in Canada, and it’s surprisingly different from what I’d known.

    • Yeah, job hunting is different from country to country. It’s great to have a program where they show new Canadians how to optimize their job search efforts. Thanks for your comment Mika!

Leave a Reply

