How the journey began

I decided to write a blog about my experience in the Marketing field in Canada after moving from Mexico. I haven’t really said much about it yet so I thought it’s about time I start.

It all began in 2002 when I meet a nice Canadian guy and we began an online relationship. A couple years

Sunny Mexico, what I left behind

later I came to study English in Canada and we met in person. We travelled back and forth for years to see each other and stayed in touch, chatting every night and waiting for the next time when we could travel. Finally, we got married in 2009 and began the immigration process. On March 11, 2010, I moved to Canada.

So the journey began. A new life in a new country is a challenge that can be both exciting and overwhelming. Excited as I was, I decided to start applying for work and after a few weeks without getting any results, I learned my first lesson as a professional in a new country: To get your foot in the door, it is not enough to send your resume everywhere. In Mexico, I never even had to apply for work. I had built a reputation from the time I was in school, I knew a lot of people so usually I got tips about jobs and I knew English which is a really important skills in my country. So that was the first surprise. In my next post I will talk about what I did about it and who was there to help me.

It took a while to get used to this!

If you are a newcomer, did you go through a similar experience? What did you do about it?

If you are Canadian, have you ever thought what it would be like to move to a different country and the challenges you would face?

About Diana Massimi

As a newcomer in Canada, I've had some really great experiences. Every day, I continue to learn and adapt to my new country. As I've just passed the three year mark as a permanent resident, I'll soon be applying for citizenship. It's an exciting step to take and I'm looking forward to being "officially" Canadian. This blog is to share what I've learned so far and my everyday experiences and feelings being a newcomer to this country. More than anything I'll be looking forward to hearing from other newcomers and exchanging impressions and anecdotes about our new life in Canada. Feel free to share and ask questions, I'm also always happy to help a fellow newcomer!
This entry was posted in Marketing and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

